2018 Annual Tribal Elections

March 3, 2018 @ 7:00 am – 12:00 pm
Cassie Harper


 Saturday, March 3, 2018


The Election Committee of the Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma announces the Annual Election is scheduled on Saturday, March 3, 2018.  Positions to be filled are: Chief and two seats on the Grievance Committee, each for terms of four (4) years.

Two candidates filed for the two seats on the Grievance Committee.  In accordance with Article XVI – Filing for Candidacy, Section 1 (i) Unopposed Candidates, Mary Lembcke Davey and Lela Kay Stand, have been declared by the Election Committee to be elected.  They will assume office at the next annual Peoria Council meeting. A Special Election will be called to fill the vacated seat on the Business Committee.

Any member of the Peoria Tribe, as defined in Article III, Section 1 – MEMBERSHIP OF TRIBE, of the Constitution of the Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma, shall be eligible to vote, provided the member is eighteen (18) years of age or over on the date of the election.  Each member will be required to show proof of identification at each election in the form of a government issued photo identification showing their name to match the Official Voters’ List provided by the Tribal Enrollment Office. (Peoria Tribe Election Ordinance, Article VI-VOTERS, Section 1)

Polling place on Saturday, March 3, 2018, will be at the Peoria Tribal Administration Building Conference Room, 118 South Eight Tribes Trail, Miami, Oklahoma, from     7:00 a.m. to Noon.

Candidates for offices are:

CHIEF:                                  John P. Froman

                                                Craig Harper

In the event no candidate receives a majority vote, a run-off election will be conducted between the two candidates receiving the greatest number of votes.  The Election Committee will immediately proceed to call for a run-off election by announcing the time polls will open.  Polls for a run-off election will remain open for a period of two (2) hours.  Announcement of the run-off election will be made at the Peoria Tribal Office and at the Ottawa/Peoria Cultural Building at the Annual Peoria Council Meeting.  Balloting will continue until one candidate receives a clear majority of total votes cast.

Voting results will be announced immediately at the Peoria Tribal Office and during the Annual Peoria Council Meeting at the Ottawa/Peoria Cultural Building, scheduled to convene at 1:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 3, 2018.